News Releases

Nadine emerges victorious at the MYX Music Awards 2019

May 16, 2019 AT 04:41 PM

Nadine emerges victorious at the MYX Music Awards 2019

Rivermaya is this year’s MYX Magna Awardee

Nadine Lustre rose above the MYX Music Awards 2019 competition with the most number of wins, while Juan Karlos triumphed with Song of the Year for “Buwan” at the awards night held at the ABS-CBN Vertis Tent.

Multimedia princess Nadine proves she is truly unstoppable as she took home four huge wins—Artist of the Year, Female Artist of the Year, Media Soundtrack of the Year (with James Reid for “Prom”), and Music Video of the Year for her song “St4y Up.”

“This is a big surprise for me. I would like to thank all the JaDine fans who voted for me, all our supporters. To James, of course, thank you for writing this beautiful, beautiful song. Thank you so much, MYX,” said Nadine.

Darren Espanto, I Belong to the Zoo, and Moira dela Torre also bagged two awards each—Darren with Male Artist of the Year and Remake of the Year for “Dying Inside to Hold You,” I Belong to the Zoo with New Artist of the Year and MYX Bandarito Performance of the Year, and Moira with Collaboration of the Year for “Kung ‘Di Lang Rin Ikaw” with December Avenue and Mellow Video of the Year for her hit song “Tagpuan,” which she also performed at the awards night alongside her husband Jason Hernandez.

Meanwhile, Jolina Magdangal led a new generation of artists consisting of Jona, Julie Anne San Jose, Juris, Maysh Baay, and Moira in performing the greatest hits of this year's MYX Music Awards Magna Awardee, Rivermaya.

The prestigious MYX Magna Award hailed all those who have been part of the Rivermaya legacy for the past 25 years and was received by current members Miguel Escueta, Mike Elgar, and Nathan Azarcon.

“We want to thank the fans, we won’t last 25 year if it weren’t for our supporters. We would like to share this award with our co-musicians and bands. We encourage you guys to keep playing, to keep singing, no matter what happens,” said Miguel in their acceptance speech.

MYX also partnered with Spotify, the world's most popular music streaming subscription service, to present the Most Streamed Local Artist award based on their 2018 Wrapped data. Moira walked away with the inaugural award as she is also Spotify's most streamed female artist for 2018 in the Philippines.

The “Idol Philippines” judge and Ben&Ben also came together for a special Spotify Jams session live at the MYX Music Awards where they sang their Spotify recorded versions of the greatest OPM love songs of the past—"Beautiful Girl" by Jose Mari Chan and "Naaalala Ka / Maging Sino Ka Man" by Rey Valera. Both recordings are available on Spotify's OPM flagship playlist, “Tatak Pinoy.”

Other notable awardees are Boyband PH with Group of the Year, IV of Spades with Rock Video of the Year, and Shanti Dope with Urban Video of the Year.

The 14th MYX Music Awards was hosted by VJs Ai dela Cruz, Inigo Pascual, Robi Domingo, Samm Alvero, Sharlene San Pedro, and Sunny Kim.

Relive the MYX Music Awards 2019 moments on MYX this Saturday (May 18) at 8 pm, with replays on May 19 (Sunday) at 11:30 am and May 25 (Saturday) at 3 pm. Watch MYX on ABS-CBN TVplus channel 12, SKYcable channel 23, and SKYdirect channel 37. For updates, follow @abscbnpr on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram or visit