News Releases

ABS-CBN TFC News Entertainment Reporter Yong Chavez receives second nomination for International Media Award at Annual ICG Publicists Awards in Hollyw

January 06, 2023 AT 06:04 AM

LOS ANGELES, CA, January 5, 2022 – ABS-CBN’s TFC News Hollywood correspondent Yong Chavez has been nominated for an International Media Award at the 60th Annual ICG Publicists Awards for the second year in a row.
The award celebrates publicists, unit still photographers, and entertainment journalists, all of whom contribute to bringing television and motion picture campaigns to life.
Chavez, a member of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA/Golden Globes) and Hollywood Critics Association (HCA Awards), represents ABS-CBN News (Philippines). She was also recently tapped as one of three journalists to conduct official HFPA backstage interviews with the winners at the 80th Golden Globes.

Clockwise from left: Yong Chavez with Yong with Dolly De Leon, the first Filipina to get a Golden Globe nomination; with Fil-Am actor Reggie Lee; interviewing Nick Mohammed of “Ted Lasso” at the 2022 Primetime Emmys; at Unforgettable - the 20th Annual Asian American Awards in December 2022.

Chavez is nominated alongside five other international entertainment journalists, Dan Jolin of Empire (UK), Garry Maddox of the Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), Zachary Ntim of Deadline (UK), Helen O’Hara of Empire (Northern Ireland), and Adam Tanswell of Total Film (UK).
In a social media post celebrating the good news, Chavez thanked Hollywood publicists who champion diverse voices in the entertainment business and highlighted how the recognition of hard work is important to ensuring equitable representation in the industry. “This is a dream come true,” said Chavez. “It is an honor and a privilege to document and tell the stories of our often-under-represented talents.”     
ICG Publicists Awards Chairs Tim Menke and Sheryl Main announced the nominees in the following categories:
  • Les Mason Award for Career Achievement in Publicity
  • Publicist of the Year Award
  • Excellence in Unit Still Photography Award – Motion Pictures
  • Excellence in Unit Still Photography — Television
  • Press Award
  • International Media Award
The Motion Picture Showman of the Year Award and the Television Showman of the Year Award will be announced soon.
The nominees for the 2023 Maxwell Weinberg Award for Television Publicity Campaigns have been previously announced. While the Maxwell Weinberg Award for Motion Picture Publicity Campaign nominees will be announced on January 12, and the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service will be announced at the award show. 
Other leading entertainment news outlets such as Variety and Deadline picked up the announcement.
The awards are organized by the International Cinematographers Guild and winners will be announced during a luncheon on March 10, 2023, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.
Pia Lopezbanos-Carrion
Corporate Affairs & PR
ABS-CBN International